FPR Home
Catalog » CD & DVD's » Essential Music » CD - Classic Piedmont Blues From Smithsonian Folkways

With a selection of indelible recordings made over 70 years, Classic Piedmont Blues captures the essence of this fascinating blues tradition. Originating in the foothills of Southern Appalachia, the Piedmont blues served as a breeding ground for cross-pollination between traditions: rural and urban, black and white, country and coastal. Swept up on the tide of the Great Migration, it was carried from the Carolinas and Virginia, north and east through Maryland and Washington, D.C., to New York City and back again. Featuring influential artists like John Jackson, Cephas & Wiggins, Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee, and many others, this collection offers an illuminating overview of the Piedmont style.



Track List:

1. Truckin' Little Baby

2. Mamie

3. Hey Bartender, There's a Big Bug in My Beer

4. Confusion

5. T.B. Blues

6. If I Could Holler Like a Mountain Jack

7. Clog Dance

8. Daisy

9. Going Down the Road Feeling Bad

10. I Got a Woman 'Cross Town

11. Red River Blues

12. I Ain't Gonna Pick No More Cotton

13. Sweet Woman

14. The Train that Carried My Girl from Town

15. Mountain Jack

16. Crow Jane

17. Fore Day Creep

18. Sittin' On Top of the World

19. Meet Me in the Bottom

20. Dirty Mistreater

21. The Road is Rough and Rocky