FPR Home
Catalog » CD & DVD's » Essential Music » CD - Robert Nighthawk Bricks in My Pillow Extra Tracks

~~Juke joints were the preferred domain of this legendary bluesman, not recording studios. So these 1951-52 United sessions recorded in Chicago are precious, indeed; his slide guitar sears Take It Easy Baby; Nighthawk Boogie; Feel So Bad; The Moon Is Rising; Kansas City; Seventy-Four , and more!

~~Something of a missing link between Delta and Chicago blues, Robert Nighthawk never garnered as much attention as his followers, who included Earl Hooker and Muddy Waters. That's a shame, partly rectified by this reissue from Delmark Records, though the guitarist's rambling way of life meant that his sessions were few and far between. That makes the material on this collection all the more precious; the tracks on Bricks in My Pillow include some of the best slide guitar ever recorded. Listen to Nighthawk's guitar wailing on "Crying Won't Help You" or" The Moon Is Rising" (two takes, one previously unissued, are included here), coupled with a rich, resonant voice that sounds equally at home on ballads and uptempo rockers. Though Nighthawk's name isn't often uttered in the same sentence as those of other blues greats, it indubitably should be. --Genevieve Williams

Disc: 1

  1. Crying Won't Help You


  2. Take It Easy, Baby


  3. Seventy-Four


  4. Maggie Campbell (Alternate)


  5. The Moon Is Rising


  6. Nighthawk Boogie


  7. Kansas City


  8. You Missed A Good Man


  9. Bricks In My Pillow


  10. Seventy-Four (Alternate)


  11. U/S Boogie


  12. Feel So Bad


  13. Maggie Campbell


  14. The Moon Is Rising (Incomplete)