FPR Home
Catalog » CD & DVD's » Essential Music » CD - Brownie McGhee "Folkway Years 1945-1959"

An 18-song compilation culled from the six LP's McGhee recorded for Folkways, illustrates this stellar blues guitarist's remarkable musicianship and repertoire of older blues ballads and original compositions. One selection is made available here for the first time. "...an exceptionally fine example of Brownie McGhee's work...most of the songs... are given such excellent arrangements and delivered with such charm as to be irresistible." -- Shanachie Review

Track List:

1. Daisy

2. Rising Sun

3. Careless Love

4. Cholly Blues

5. Just a Dream

6. Pawn Shop Blues

7. Hangman's Blues

8. Living with the Blues

9. Fore Day Creep

10. Me and Sonny

11. Raise a Ruckus Tonight

12. Betty and Dupree

13. Long Gone

14. Grievin' Hearted Blues

15. I'm Gonna Tell God How You Treat Me

16. Can't Help Myself

17. Pallet on the Floor